Craft Book Month :: Hoop La! + giveaway

Today is my stop during the 3rd annual Craft Book Month at Craft Buds!

My book choice is Hoop La! : 100 Things to Do with Embroidery Hoops by Kirsty Neale.

130891

This book is full of ADORABLE ideas for making hoops and all are small projects.   I’m a beginner at embroidery and I chose this book as a way to practice my skills and end up with something cute to hang around the house.

Screen Shot 2013-09-01 at 10.06.40 PM

Now,  when I say adorable, I mean seriously so so cute.    Pretty much every single one is something I would love to make and that’s hard to say about 100 projects.   Well done Kirsty!

The projects combine embroidery and appliqué along with lots of creative ideas for embellishing your hoop from wood staining to crochet.

Screen Shot 2013-09-01 at 9.58.13 PM

At the end of the book there are instructions and photos for embroidery stitches, how to crochet and tips on appliquéing.   Pretty much everything a beginner needs.

I chose to make 1 of the hoops from a 3 part series called ‘What’s Cooking”(shown below).

Screen Shot 2013-09-01 at 10.11.36 PM

This project combines fused appliqué and embroidery.  I would have never thought to combine the two and it really adds such a fun dimension to the finished project.

My stitches are far from perfect, but the process was relaxing and I enjoyed having a project that could travel easily with me.

DSC_2188

DSC_2189

If you think you’d like to try out some of the hoops, leave a comment and I’ll draw  (2) winners and send you an e-book version of Hoop La!   Open to US and International readers.     Open until Friday, Sept 6th at noon EST.

There are also giveaways all month long when you link up a project made from a craft book.   Details on the hop and contest below:

xo Lindsey

Blog Hop

Week One

Monday 9/2: Fabric Mutt / LRstitched

Tuesday 9/3: Stitch This! The Martingale Blog / Stitched in Color

Wednesday 9/4: Fabric Seeds / Pile O Fabric

Thursday 9/5: The Feisty Redhead / Rae Gun Ramblings

Friday 9/6: Sew-Fantastic / Clover + Violet

Saturday 9/7: A Prairie Sunrise / Small Town Stitcher

Week Two

Monday 9/9: Hopeful Threads / Go To Sew

Tuesday 9/10: The Sewing Rabbit / Sewing Mama RaeAnna

Wednesday 9/11: Marci Girl Designs / imagine gnats

Thursday 9/12: Sew Sweetness / amylouwhosews

Friday 9/13: Lindsay Sews / 13 Spools

Saturday 9/14: Inspire Me Grey / Angela Yosten 

Week Three
Monday 9/16: Sew Very / Craftside
Tuesday 9/17: The Littlest Thistle / CraftFoxes

9/1-9/30: Link up your craft book project at Craft Buds from your blog or Flickr account, and enter to win prizes. Winners will be announced on Tuesday, October, 1!
 
2012 Craft Book Month Projects (L to R):

Sew Crafty Jess, Sewing Rabbit, Stitched in Color, MissKnitta’s Studio

To participate in the month-long contest, just link up any project you’ve made from a pattern in a craft book. That easy! You’ll tell us a little about the book, the project, how you personalized it, etc.

Rules

1) One entry per person. 

2) Your craft book project must have been completed in 2013. 

3) Create a new blog post or Flickr photo (dated September 1, 2013 or later) and link back to Craft Buds/Craft Book Month in your post or photo description. In your post or photo description, make sure to list the craft book you used and provide a link if possible.

4) All winners chosen via Random.org. Some prizes available to international winners, so please join us!

Prizes

Visit Craft Buds and link up your craft book project during the window of Sept 1-30 and you’ll automatically be entered to win some fantastic prizes from the Craft Book Month sponsors!

No time to make a project? You can also follow Craft Buds all month long for your chance to comment and win some new sewing and quilting books for your library.

 Craft Book Month at Craft Buds

88 Comments

Filed under Feature, Giveaway

88 responses to “Craft Book Month :: Hoop La! + giveaway

  1. Kris

    Love the cute hop with the bowls!

  2. Of course I’d love to make a hoop or two! Your version of the bowls is adorable! Thank you for this great opportunity.

  3. I would love to win this book for a chance to learn something new. I am always looking for new things to try and learn.

  4. I’d love to try a hoop, the book looks like it’s full of great projects!!

  5. Allison C

    These projects are so cute!

  6. Looks like a great book…Your background choice on your bowls is perfect!

  7. Wow this is a great idea and such a fun way to become more comfortable with an embroidery hoop!

  8. Joyce Spaulding

    Just adorable…and I do have all kinds of old embroidery hoops laying around!

  9. Laurene

    I would love this book!

  10. Anita

    I really like the fused fabric hoops. The book looks like it is full of fun projects.

  11. Pingback: Craft Book Month: Fabric Mutt + LR Stitched | Craft Buds

  12. Looks a great book! I like the project you picked.

  13. Oooh, I love new hoop ideas! What a fun book! I love the one you picked :)

  14. Love the hoops. I will definitely have to check this book out. This hop souds like a whole lot of fun :-)

  15. Bea

    Look lovely! What a great idea to use hoops this way. I hope to win a copy ;o)

  16. I love to embroider and who knew you could make so many cute things using the hoops. thanks for sharing and for the giveaway.

  17. Hildy

    I love these ideas. Most of them look pretty easy, but very cute.

  18. Oh my goodness, I’m in love with this book! I wish I’d seen it sooner. It looks like it has exactly what I’ve been looking for and didn’t realize it. :) I’ve been thinking of adding little pieces of art to a wall in my living room and these little hoops would be perfect.
    Way to start out the blog hop with a wow! I love your little bowls. :)

  19. M

    Loving all the hoop ideas! So fun:)

  20. Sharlyn

    Such cute projects! Thanks for the chance to win!

  21. Eva

    That looks like such a fab book! I know it would get a lot of use in our house as my daughter is mad into embroidering at the minute!

  22. Vera

    These really look cute!

  23. hueisei

    Very cute project!

  24. Sarah Norman

    What a lovely looking book. I love the one with the little bird hanging inside it!

  25. that’s a new book to me, I haven’t seen it before, it looks great! I’ve just finished a whole set of 26 fusible applique/embroidery squares!

  26. Paula

    Om! pure cuteness! tks fr the chance! x

  27. This book looks like so much fun! Thanks for the chance to win a copy!

  28. Jan

    Such creative ideas for decorating with hoops. I’m in love with the little bird on the smaller hoop inside of the larger hoop. Adorable!

  29. Ramona M.

    This book looks so fun. I love having a take along project and there looks like there are many of those.

  30. Such a fun idea for a book, I’ve never seen it before. Thanks for the chance to win :)

  31. lou ann rumsey

    I would love to make hoop projects, my friend made a pin cushion out of one, very cute!

  32. Cassandra

    Ooooh! I have a big stack of hoops I’ve gathered from thrift stores that I need to do something with. :-)

  33. Nicola B

    I really want to try these projects

  34. What a sweet little project. Looks like something I would enjoy. I love yours!

  35. I’m a sewist & my BFF loves needlework. This looks like it would be a great way for us to try out some new projects together!

  36. Nissi

    Oh man I’m just getting into embroidery too Lindsey!! Crossing my fingers for getting picked for this ebook! That birdie project looks seriously adorable!!!

  37. I would love to get my hands on a copy of that book! I have so many hoops, and need some new ideas to make them adorable and cute. All of the ideas here look absolutely fabulous! Thanks for the giveaway!

  38. The photos look very inspiring and I need some small projects that give you that quick sense of achievement right now. Thank you for the giveaway!

  39. Lovely projects, this books looks great, I love embroidery hoops!

  40. The button apple is so fun! I love anything made out of buttons. Please count me in.

  41. Anne

    Haven’t seen this book yet but it looks awesome! LOVE all the little projects, especially the bird in the two hoops and the fox. So cute!

  42. Wendy Hatton

    This could be my next new craft indulgence. They are very creative and different. Love the ‘sausage’ dogs.

  43. Tamie

    You did a great job with your bowls. How fun!

  44. Charity Reesor

    This book looks so fun! I love all the creative way I’ve been seeing hoops used on Pinterest. This is a must for my craft book library! Thank you for sharing! Love your hoopy creations :)

  45. mary moon

    That hoopla book is so cute. I will have to get me a copy. Thanks for sharing!

  46. Embroidery is something I have been wanting to try for a while. I love all those little hoops! And yours looks great, too! :) thanks so much!

  47. Kellene

    I would really like to try some projects from this book, very cute! Thanks for the giveaway!

  48. Awesome! I’ve been interested in trying to figure out how to do applique with embroidery – made one attempt at it last year but without a tutorial it turned out a bit iffy, I’m going to have to see this book soon one way or another, thank you for the giveaway!

  49. Hoop La! looks amazing! Small projects are so cute & satisfying to make. Adding it to my wish-list… thanks for a chance to win a copy!

  50. Sue

    Looks like a great book!

  51. Had never come across this book before but it definitely looks like it should be in my craft library. Thanks for the introduction.

  52. ellen t

    such a cute book!

  53. Sam

    Yes please! You’re stitches look pretty darn good to me!!!

  54. Wow they look stunning, I’ve done some applique in hoops before mostly because I’m a bit rubbish at embroidery!

  55. Oh this book looks like a lot of fun….I love ideas that I can actually finish and they are so adorable…Thank you for sharing this book and for the chance to win one !!

  56. Veronica

    Super cute projects! I would love a copy!

  57. Fran

    Those hoops are completely adorable! I’d love to win a copy of the e book, thanks for the chance to win.

  58. Faith

    Wow, lots of inspiration! I especially love the feathers and kitchen trio. I’ve got about 4 thrifted hoops in my craft closet right now that I can use. Thanks for sharing the book. I’m going to look for it right now.

  59. I have a collection of hoops, I need to Hoop along and this would be a “stash” buster for me.. LOL

  60. OH your hoop turned out so cute! I have never heard of this book, but you are right, it is so many cute projects!!!

  61. very cute! i like your bowls hoop.

  62. Shawn

    Would love to win the book, the projects are great. Thanks.
    smjohns63 at yahoo dot com

  63. Debbie

    Wow! Cute bowls! Thanks for the chance to win.

  64. Rebecca T

    I adore the bird in the hoops! There are so many clever ideas, I’d love the opportunity to play with hoops :-)

  65. Wow! Thanks for the info; this sounds really fun! I just love the bird sitting on a hoop perch and that couple on gingham reminds me of one of my favorite cartoons/book series, “Charlie & Lola.”
    If I win, that’s what I’ll be making but either way, I will definitely be linking up soon.

  66. Mary Winterton

    Love all the projects shown in the book, and your take on the one you did! Would love to try some!

  67. Amy C

    Ooo those hearts in a row – lovely!!! Looks like a great book!

  68. Emma

    Looks like its a great book. I love that you can do so much with hoops.

  69. Lovely projects¡¡¡ I just added this book to my cart, just waiting…

  70. Beth T.

    Oh what fun! Thanks for sharing!

  71. Kathy H

    Oh my goodness, seriously, these designs are so adorable!! And I love the sizes!! You are one talented artist!! Be especially blessed…

  72. Amy e

    These projects look really adorable! The apple made of buttons looks so fun!!!

  73. The projects look delightful! Would love to win! Tnank you!

  74. Stephanie

    Super cute. I love books and need to branch out. I would love to try this out! Thanks

  75. What a wonderful opportunity to win an equally fabulous book! Thank you!!

  76. Joanne Underwood

    Look soooo cute! Nevr won a giveaway so fingers crossed! This book is already on my wish list :-)

  77. Wow some of those ideas are great. I would love to give them a try. Thanks for sharing.

  78. Your project turned out so cute! Great job!

  79. Kim McM

    This is the first I’ve heard of this book, and it looks like a keeper. I have a thing for old metal embroidery hoops, and would love to see some fresh new ideas for what to do with them.

  80. I have done only a little embroidery,but a hoop would have helped a lot!

  81. I love embroidery and I’ve been wanting to try my hand at three dimensional projects.

  82. Carol Phillips

    I love the combination of applique and embroidering. Can’t wait to try some myself.

  83. Pingback: Giveaway Roundup : Missouri Mel

  84. I’d LOVE to win these! Thanks for the chance! I just got a new Alison Glass embroidery pattern, and I’d love to learn how to do it!

  85. Megan Blomquist

    Looks like a great book full of cute ideas!

  86. Pingback: Hoop-La E-book Winners! | LRstitched

I truly appreciate your comments, thank you for taking the time to leave one! Lindsey

