Celebration station and a Dresden update

Phew, this week is like party central.

I have to first give a shout-out to my little girl, Laikyn.   Today is her 4th birthday.  Happy Birthday sweet girl!

We had her ‘friends’ birthday party on Sunday afternoon and mama is still recovering.   Four year olds have a ridiculous amount of energy.

And it didn’t help that I stayed up until 3am sewing her birthday outfit when I had to wake up at 7am.  Word to the wise:  Do not decide that the tee needs a skirt at 1am.

I managed to get it finished and she approved, which is fortunate because I probably would have cried if  she didn’t want to wear it.


I found the skirt pattern on Etsy, it’s called the Marigold Skirt by DittyPop.   Easy to put together and I love how you can really mix it up and make it funky.

Since her actual birthday is today we indulged in some leftover cake.   She has a ballet recital on Saturday and our extended family will be coming.   They weren’t able to make it on Sunday, so we’re having another little get together to give them a chance to celebrate with her.    You best believe she is loving all this fuss!

Speaking of parties, I really enjoyed reading through the comments that were left yesterday at the blog party over at Ellison Lane.  Thank you Jennifer for having me and to each of you who came over here as a result!

The best part, to me, about blogging is connecting with others.   I love finding new blogs  and learning about each of you and being encouraged by such a generous and inspiring community!

On a sewing note,  I got a few more blocks in the mail today for the Dresden quilt.  I’ve got to hurry up and bust out the last seven I have to do.

I planned it to be 4 wide and 6 long, but I’m beginning to wonder if I should add another row to the width.   I guess it will depend on whether I sash the blocks or not.    Opinions?  Sashing or no sashing?

Yes, I realize my floor is a disaster.  This is called reality. LOL

Hope your week is off to a great start!

Lindsey

17 Comments

Filed under Life, Quilts, Sewing

17 responses to “Celebration station and a Dresden update

  1. Andrea C

    happy birthday to your little girl!

    i vote for sashing. 🙂

  2. Superb party outfit – not showing my twins or they’ll both want the same, and my dress making skills are a tad rusty!!

    For my two-pence worth, scrappy sashing around the whole quilt, not individual blocks…

  3. Mary Jo Larson

    What an adorable birthday outfit. I love the Castle. I enjoyed your interview at EllisonLane. Mary Jo

  4. Not that you should listen to me, but I say “no sashings”. I think it looks great as is!

  5. What about a piano key border and no sashing? That is what I am doing with mine. 🙂 They look super and I know she will love it!

    LOVE LOVE Laikyn’s birthday outfit. Girl, you have some mad skills with your applique and the skirt is sooo cute. She looks just like you! Sounds like she is feeling the love as one should do on their birthdays. (BTW, Grace would have LOVED the princess table cloth. She is very much into princesses all of a sudden.) Hope you’ve had a great day!

  6. love the cute tee (how detailed!!!) and the skirt is just so fun looking, she’ll get a lot of use out of it I’m sure. 🙂

  7. Gill Watson

    Happy Birthday to your daughter! I love her outfit
    My vote is for no sashing! keep it simple

  8. Hi! I just found your blog, and am so happy to have found another Lindsey in the sewing world! 🙂
    The birthday outfit is adorable and I love those Dresdens!!! I tend to like sashing, but I think it would look nice either way!! Happy stiching!

  9. Nicole Flint

    I don’t know what sashing is… but I LOVE it the way it is… but I know that whatever you decide to do it will be fabulous! I’m glad that I saw Miss L’s birthday outfit in person… it was so very cute (makes me want a girl so that I can stay up until 3 am sewing her something fabulous for her birthday!)
    xoxo
    Nicole

  10. Mary

    I’m a lot older than 4, and I still love it when my Birthday DAY festivities grow into a Birthday WEEK.
    Maybe you can post a photo with sashing auditions to compare without sashing. I do like Jennifer’s idea of piano keys.

I truly appreciate your comments, thank you for taking the time to leave one! Lindsey

