Birthday Week: Day 3

I can’t believe it’s already Day 3!

Thank you for coming back for another day of celebration!

I’m excited for today’s gift, a copy of Rashida Coleman-Hale’s latest book, Zakka Style.

This is such a lovely collection of sewing projects.     Each one is as functional as it is beautiful!

I had the pleasure of seeing Rashida at the last meeting of The Atlanta Modern Quilt Guild where she discussed the book and the process of compiling it.    I knew I had to have a copy and so I picked an extra one up to share!

And the best part??

She signed it just for you!   Thank you Rashida!!

For a Chance to win:

1.  Are you familiar with Zakka?  Leave a comment letting me know your experience.   This is my first Zakka book and I’m excited to sew through it.

Open to everyone (US and International).   All giveaways will remain open until Monday, Feb 13th at 10pm est and I will announce all winners from the week on Feb 14th.    Remember a new giveaway will start each day at midnight through Friday!

Please make sure to enter your email so that I can contact you if you win.

———-

Thank you for sharing your color loves yesterday!   I’m inspired to try using a bolder color as a neutral.

If you missed any of the previous giveaways, I’ve listed them here:

Day 1:  Washi Fat Quarter Bundle

Day 2:  Pure Elements Fat Quarter Bundle, donated by the Fat Quarter Shop

xo, Lindsey

 

122 Comments

Filed under Fabric, Giveaway

122 responses to “Birthday Week: Day 3

  1. Sharlyn

    I have never heard of “Zakka” but if it involves playing in my sewing room, learning new techniques and avoiding housework, I’m there! 🙂

  2. Libby

    I am not familiar with Zakka, but the projects look fun.

  3. Covadonga

    I would like to find out what “zakka” is!

  4. Hueisei

    I loves Zakka handmade like the slipper and also sling bag. I have few Zakka handmade books from Japan.
    Thanks.

  5. Penny

    I don’t know Zakka, but I know Rashida and her beautiful hand work. I love the way she works with linen and big stitches.

  6. I’m not familiar with Zakka style but this book looks absolutely intriguing! The little boxes illustrated on the cover are charming. Thanks for the giveaway.

  7. I first became familiar with Zakka during the Blogger’s Quilt Festival. I want to try it soon.

  8. I am totally unfamiliar with Zakka and would love to learn more!

  9. Beth T.

    I have admired Zakka and Rashida from afar…I’m really a read-about-it-endlessly before I try anything new. So I’d love to win a copy of this book and move myself one step closer to giving it a go.

    Thanks for sharing the birthday love–a signed copy is quite generous.

  10. I actually just recently discovered this book and was enticed. I have no experience with any Zakka books. I’d absolutely love to win a copy of this book – especially a signed one. Thank you for the generous giveaway!

  11. I love the style and I was thinking about getting one of the books with Zakka projects some time soon.
    I’ve made some phone cozies which use the combination of linen and patterned cotton I like so much in the Zakka projects I’ve seen on blogs.

  12. Jennie P.

    I have not heard of Zakka before, but this looks like a lovely book.

  13. Mary Jo Larson

    I have never seen this author before but have been seeing this book all over. I would love a copy. Thanks for the give away.

  14. ira

    I heard word zakka before, but I don’t know the meaning. from the cover of the book, I assume zakka is some kind of home decoration stuff. Please correct me if I’m wrong 🙂
    The project looks beautiful, please God let me win this 😀

  15. I love zakka and made my daughter a pencil case shaped like a rabbit…very cute! I don’t have many patterns though and would love to win Rashida’s book!

  16. I`m not familiar with Zakka.The projects in the cover look wonderful.Thanks for the giveaway!

  17. I’ve heard of Zakka but never actually seen (inside) the books. The cover – and your description – make this one look great! Thanks for the fun week 🙂

  18. Gill

    I’m not familiar with Zakka but I’d love to learn more!

  19. Paula

    I have Rashida’s first book and love it. I also have a couple of Japanese books with zakka projects and they’re wonderful too. Thanks for the chance!
    ap_lemos at yahoo dot com

  20. Clare

    Ooooooo this could help me with my new stitching endeavours!! Looks lovely, Zakka looks fabba! x

  21. Caillean Z

    I have no idea what Zakka is, butI love the linen in the projects.

  22. I’m not familiar with Zakka at all but that book looks fantastic and just the sort of things l would love to be able to make.

  23. Lisa Marie

    Zakka is new to me. The projects on the book’s cover look lovely and I would like to learn about this whole Zakka thing!

  24. Jo

    I have enjoyed looking at Zakka projects on line but have never attempted any myself. I would love to get my grubby hands on this book!

  25. i do love zakka, this would make me so happy. thank you! and happy bd !

  26. I don’t really know much about Zakka other than I pinned her sewing pouch on PInterest. I fell in love with it!

  27. Aaaww I wanted to go to that meeting but my it was the last day of my husband’s three-week long business trip. We were lucky enough to go to Tokyo as part of our honeymoon and I almost lost my mind at all the Zakka cuteness I saw in Japan – I’ve been a convert since 🙂 Love this giveaway! Thanks again!

  28. I’ve never heard of Zakka. But I’m always eager to try new things. Would love see inside this book for a new experience. 🙂

  29. I’m not familiar with zakka, but that book looks amazing!! I think it might be a must have!

  30. Charity Reesor

    I’m not familiar with Zakka…yet 😉 I’ll have to check it out! Looks fun!

  31. I am not familiar… but wow! looks wonderful 😉

  32. I haven’t done any Zakka sewing, but I’ve been intrigued by the books I’ve seen. Maybe this would be just what I need to get me started. Thanks for the chance.

  33. Becky Greene

    I have not heard about Zakka, but I would be very happy to learn 🙂 Thanks for the great giveaway and the very fun week!

  34. I am not familiar with Zakka, but always open to learning new things. This looks interesting. Hey Gill, scoot over and I’ll come sit beside you. 🙂

  35. Jill

    my only experience with Zakka is drooling over pictures online.

  36. I’m familiar with the term, and I think the general meaning of simple yet functional. I think it’s really cool (nerd here) to have an autographed copy!

  37. Paula B

    I don’t know Zakka, but I love Rashida work!!!

  38. Paula B

    I am a follower!

  39. Jen

    I have heard of Zakka and have been eying up this book!

  40. I have not tried Zakka–from the looks of it, the concept/process is not entirely clear. Perhaps you could take us on a process series of blog posts! Zakka-Alongs in your future?

  41. I have seen, on other people’s blogs, projects made from this book and they always look lovely! I haven’t made anything from her designs yet, but would love to give them a try! Thanks again for another generous giveaway!

  42. sarah

    I keep seeing this book on blogs and wanting to try my hand at it. I have no real idea what zakka is! Thanks for the giveaway!

  43. I {heart} the sewing kit on the cover of the book, and I drool over the Zakka style, but as life would have it housework has gotten in the way of me trying it!

  44. I love being in your following 🙂

  45. Allison C

    I have no idea what Zakka is! Would love to learn.
    alibear167 at gmail

  46. No, I don’t know what Zakka means, but this looks like a fun book!
    ourbusylittlebunch(at)hotmail(dot)com

  47. VickiT

    All that I can tell about what Zakka is would be simple and functional items we all can use in our daily lives. I love simplicity in my sewing so hopefully that style also working into the making of Zakka styled items. haha Anyway, I’ve seen many of her things around the blogs and would love to own this book. Thanks so much for the chance to possibly win my own copy. And how cool that it’s autographed too.

  48. Julie

    i fell in love with zakka style when i lived in japan for a year and a half. i wish i had got more books and supplies when i was there!

  49. I’ve never heard of Zakka before, but boy am I glad to know about it now! What a beautiful book.

  50. Holly

    not familiar with it, but that book looks great!

  51. I’m new to Zakka, but I’ve seen this book (don’t have it myself) and it’s LOVELY! Thanks for a chance to win!

  52. Maeve

    I LOVE Rashida’s quilting style and would be thrilled to win her latest book. Pick me, please!!!! Thanks!

  53. I am fairly unfamiliar with it, but would like to become familiar!

  54. i love her books. i haven’t picked this one up yet but i have been meaning to!

  55. I’ve seen the books and heard the term, but that’s it–would love the chance to play!

  56. I’m not familiar with Zakka but the book looks great and the projects on the cover are beautiful!

  57. I heard a lot about zakka, but never tried myself, maybe this is my opportunity!!!, thanks for the chance

  58. I’m not really familiar with Zakka, but I’d love to learn more!

  59. I’m not familiar with Zakka … I’ve seen the term tossed around and am anxious to learn more about it. This book is on my wish list! Thanks for the great giveaway ;o)

  60. I don’t think I’ve ever done a zakka-style project myself, but when other people make things that they say are zakka, I like them! 😀

    Thanks for the chance to win!

  61. Ive heard of Zakka but never looked at any of the books, this does look really lovely though

  62. Andrea C L

    i’ve never heard of it but it looks fabulous!

  63. Fran

    I’ve heard of Zakka & browsed Rashida’s book, it looks amazing & I would love to sew Zakka style. Thanks for another great giveaway.

  64. Nissi

    I’ve seen the word Zakka floating around on SM but haven’t ever seen/done anything before.

  65. I am not very familiar with Zakka but hope to learn all about it. Would love to win. Fingers crossed! Thanks for the great giveaway chance Lindsey!

  66. I don’t know anything…would love to learn 🙂

  67. I honestly don’t know what Zakka means. But I like Rashida’s work, so I think I’d love the book too.

  68. Jenn Pagel

    That book looks amazing. New stitcher here, just in the “getting to know my machine” stage but I’m having a great time so far.

  69. lynn

    i’ve checked out a few zakka books and own a couple=finishing a zakka project is so rewarding! thanks for the giveaway.

  70. Heather

    I’m familiar with Zakka but haven’t sewn anything in a while. This book looks wonderful and just might be the nudge I need to get sewing!

  71. Carla G

    I’m not familiar with Zakka at all, but the cover projects on this book look great. And I’m always up for a new project/challenge. Thanks for a chance to win! 🙂

  72. I’ve seen the word/name(?) around and I love the fabrics, but I’d like to know more about Zakka. This would be the perfect opportunity!

  73. Andrea

    Looks like I need to learn something. Heard of it but don’t know much. I love the traveling sewing kit on the cover.

  74. Not familiar but would so love to learn more about it! 🙂

  75. I am not familiar with Zakka, but the projects look fun.

  76. Elizabeth McDonald

    I am not familiar with Zakka, but went and read your explanation on your blog, so I know more now than I did! This book looks very interesting…I love to surround myself with bright fabrics and in simple designs!

  77. Audrey

    Zakka is new to me and that book looks intriguing. I’ve long enjoyed Rashika’s linen and color balance.

  78. Well without really knowing, some things I’ve made could be Zakka – like my Japanese lucky owls. Would love to learn more about it though.

  79. I’m not sure if anything I’ve made falls into “Zakka”, maybe since I’ve worked with linen and made some household items. Gorgeous book, thanks for the give away.

  80. I’m not too familiar with Zakka, aside from it’s meaning…but I’m willing to become very, very familiar with it 🙂

  81. Okay, I admit my ignorance with Zakka, but now I am intrigued/!

  82. Okay normally I don’t enter giveaways. . but this is too good to pass up!

  83. Jill

    oh! and I am a follower.

  84. It looks like you will be educating a lot of people about Zakka, including me! I’m going to go Google it now…… haileybarb at cox dot net.

  85. I first heard about it a couple of years ago with one of my blogging friends posting about a Japanese sewing magazine called Cotton Time. Over the years I have acquired a handful of copies and I continually pull them off the shelf to look through them over and over again. I catch new details each time. 🙂 I also love the photography and how each item is displayed. An inspiration to how I should be photographing things for my blog.

  86. Rebecca

    I’d love to have a copy of that book! I LOVE all things Rashida 🙂

  87. Margie

    I have a copy of her first first book and love it!

  88. Christine

    I’ve looked through some Zakka books and always love all the projects. I’d really love to check this one out too! Thanks for the generous giveaway!

  89. I’ve glanced through this book at the store and would love to add it to my library. I’ve never done any Zakka project.

  90. I came across zakka a few years ago. I’m still not sure exactly what qualifies something as zakka, but it’s a cute!

  91. I’ve seen many Zakka projects online and have loved them but haven’t tried anything yet.

  92. Lizzie

    Haven’t done any yet, but I had a friend who always used to use linen and little accents in her home….I would love to try, as I am in a nesting mode right now!

  93. Lizzie

    I am a folllower of LR Stitched!

  94. I have a few Zakka books, two in Japanese and one in English. Very inspirational and easy enough to make things from the photos and diagrams even without being able to read the text! Haven’t seen Rashida’s in person yet, looks lovely.

  95. amorette

    i am not too familiar, but i love the aesthetic, and i love learning new things!

  96. I love zakka style, this book is high on my wish list, would be fantastic to win a copy 🙂

  97. I have seen the work before but have never had the chance to make anything, the book looks beautiful!!

  98. I haven’t used one of the Zakka books,but they look great!

  99. The few Zakka patterns I’ve seen so far are supercute. Count me in, please!

  100. I’ve heard about Zakka here and there, but that’s the extent of my experience with it. So far.

  101. I am not familiar with Zakka, but the cover of the book looks interesting. I’ll definitely see if I can borrow it from my library. I love to borrow crafty books that way I know it I want to buy a copy.

  102. I have no Zakka experience but I know it’s pretty cute! Thanks for the giveaway!

  103. I don’t have any experience with Zakka but it looks so fun. I’d love to try it! Looks like a great book!

  104. paula

    I love Zakka style, but haven’t *learned* it yet :(, though it seems to be simple and plain style, it has not turned out easy to achieve, at least for me.;)
    tks fr this chance to own talented Rashida’s book! xx

    paulaheredec(at)gmail(dot)com

  105. I keep seeing the term “zakka” appearing on blogs so have had to do a bit of googling to find out more. Now I am really hoping to win that cute book!

  106. Dying to get this book! My first experience with Zakka was actually through Rashida’s first book — I made the button calendar and I just loved how it came out! I’m a total Rashida groupie now 🙂

  107. Jessica Helen

    I haven’t heard of Zakka before, but the book looks amazing – i love sewing projects!!

  108. I am not familiar with Zakka, but the projects look fun.

  109. Kim

    Oh! I so love this book and would adore to win it Thanks for the chance!

  110. I just learned about Zakka- actually Rashida’s blog was how I found you!

  111. Joy

    I have been a fan of Rashida’s work for a while now. Her first book, I Love Patchwork, was my introduction to Zakka style sewing. I’d love to win a copy of her newest book!

  112. I have never heard of Zakka style. I will have to look it up. But i know I would love this book since I love her fabric. 🙂

  113. I’m not familiar with Zakka but I love RCH! 🙂 Washi washi washi…

  114. Céline Richard

    Would love to win this!

  115. I have muddled through a few patterns in zakka books, since patterns I have tried are in japanese. But I have had a great results. I love zakka books. 🙂

  116. Debra Lee

    I have been wanting to get a copy of this book!

  117. montse

    I’m not familiar with zakka but I love Rashida’s work so I’m sure I would love this book. Terrific giveaway! Thanks.

  118. kylie c

    I’m new to zakka but familiar with similar conscious living/design approaches.

  119. kristine

    I am not very familiar with Zakka, but have heard great things!!

  120. Bev

    I only know what I’ve seen on the cover. I love the look of linen and the ideas look very inspiring.

I truly appreciate your comments, thank you for taking the time to leave one! Lindsey

