Zakka Style :: Sewing Kit

With each project I make, I like this book more and more!

I tried to make something a bit different from my usual bright/eclectic taste.

I had fun trying to find ways to use this Square Dance panel from Anna Maria Horner.  I’ve never sewn with voile before.  It is amazingly soft!

I used the center of the large square for the lining of the kit and part of a small square for the pincushion.

After cutting the large panel for the lining , I had 2 scallop strips left over.   I was excited that I was able to work them as the binding.

I didn’t have a stamp to use for the exterior, so I cut the selvedge to use as a ‘ribbon’ trim.

I used a temporary adhesive to hold them in place and then stitched a band from the panel fabric to cover the raw edges in the center.

I used a pretty dusty blue Zuwa text print  for the ties.

It turned out so feminine and sweet, I just love it.

A quick project that would make a lovely gift!

Thanks for sharing in the process with me,  Lindsey

24 Comments

Filed under Sewing, Zakka Style Sew Along

24 responses to “Zakka Style :: Sewing Kit

  1. absolutely love this…will have to get that book! and love your fabric choices! Sondra

  2. So pretty, Lindsey! I agree with you — the more things I make out of this book, the more I love it. This is going to be my standby now for gift giving projects. I’m so glad that you hosted this sew along!

  3. Amy

    This is my favorite one so far. I just love it!

  4. So beautiful. The only thing I’m enjoying more than seeing all the variations, is reading about the process. I am fascinated by the details, and yours are utterly charming!!!

  5. Oooh, very cute! Love the dark contrast with the pink

  6. It`s absoutely beautiful!!This is one of my fav project.

  7. kimberlee

    That looks lovely!! I love how that scallop worked out for your trim/binding!! 🙂

  8. Love the fabrics. Nice work.

  9. These are lovely – I really like your use of the selvedge!

  10. Love your version. Very sylish!

  11. I absolutely adore this. Thank you so much for sharing.

  12. This is a favorite of mine, too! I just LOVE it!!

  13. So absolutely gorge sou! Enjoy.

  14. Or maybe she meant “gorgeous”. Yes, that would be more like it.

  15. I am planning on making this one too. Yours is so dreamy I love it. Great Job!
    xo

  16. Really cute and I’m inspired by your creative use of selvedges! Is the black and white fabric a linen?

  17. I am so thrilled to find this sew along and have the benefit of others and maybe help someone else. This sewing kit is adorable! Thank you so much!

  18. I love this so much! The panel is perfect with the Essex yarn dyed! I just made my own, and plan to make more from the book (finally!). Well done!

I truly appreciate your comments, thank you for taking the time to leave one! Lindsey

