Zakka 2.0 Sew Along Starts Tomorrow!

Are you guys excited??  

We’ve been waiting awhile now for the sew along to start and it kicks off tomorrow!

If you aren’t familiar with the Zakka sew along, I want to share a bit about how it works.

patchworkSALlarge

We will start with the first project in the book, the Bell Pepper Coasters, and continue each week through the entire book.

New projects start every Monday and you have until the following Sunday at midnight EST to link up your project for a chance to win that weeks prize.

Two of the weeks involve a quilt and the prizes for those weeks are the biggest ones!   In order to enter the quilt project weeks you have to have a completed quilt or quilt top.   It’s not impossible, but definitely a challenge to make a quilt top in a week, so I suggest going ahead and starting on those now and working in a block or two a week to help you be prepared.   

You don’t have to make the project exactly as the ones in the book in order to enter.   Make things you love and that you will use.   If you want to leave out a pocket or adjust the size of a project, do it!

For project weeks June 3rd through August 5th, you will be linking up here at http://www.lrstitched.com for the weekly prize.    For project weeks August 12th through Oct 7th, you will be linking up with Debbie at A Quilter’s Table.    

You can view a post from round one of the Zakka sew along last year here.    It will give you an idea of how things go.   

Depending on the week, Debbie or I will announce the weeks project and prize and send  you over to our blogger for the week who will be sharing their version of the project along with tips and tricks for completing it.   Each blogger also has a giveaway of Aurifil thread and a Pellon interfacing and batting charm pack to share.

aurifillogo

pellonlogo

We will also be doing (4) quarterly giveaways throughout the sew along for another chance to win.   

If you miss the week deadline be sure to still  link up your project when you finish it because we will be going back and pulling a winner from the combined entries for  Weeks 1-5, Weeks 6-10, Weeks 11-15, and Weeks 16-19.      The winners from these drawings will receive a $50 gift certificate to The Fat Quarter Shop!

And at the close of the sew along, anyone who completed all 19 projects will have a chance to win a $100 gift certificate to Fabricworm!

Phew!  Lots of info and a lot of fun to come.  I hope you’re excited!  

Make sure to join in the flickr group to add your project pictures and be sure to sign up to receive either email posts or feed posts from Debbie and I so you don’t miss anything.  You will need a flickr account or blog in order to link up each week using inlinkz.

I’ve also made a tab at the top of my blog that will contain all posts about the Patchwork Please sew along.

See you tomorrow!

Lindsey

 

16 Comments

Filed under Patchwork Please Sew Along, Sew Along

16 responses to “Zakka 2.0 Sew Along Starts Tomorrow!

  1. Is it okay to do just one bell pepper or one dish towel or do I need to do all three? I want to do all three but am not sure I will get them finished in time.

  2. I’m so excited! I have my fabrics picked out for this week’s project. But you are right about the quilts. I have never made a quilt before, just a few blocks so I started getting fabric out and cutting them over the weekend. Hopefully a little bit each week like you suggest will help me get it done in time! Cindy

  3. I don’t have the book yet and had the hardest time finding the book called “Zakka 2.0” ! Finally got it though & it should be here by Wednesday. Bad part- also found 3 other books I ordered at the same time! LOL

  4. So exciting, I lurked for the last one and just made a few things. I just ordered loads of linen and the book, should be here by Wednesday. It is a good job it isn’t a quilt to make this week.

  5. mary maben

    I am so excited ,and I was so nervous about paper piecing and the 2 quilts ,but I worked on the baby books quilt all day today so I can get it done on time. The paper piecing was a breeze. SO so excited to sew along.

  6. Sue Bone

    Such generous prizes, that’ll motivate us towards some finished projects.

  7. Ok…. I’m ready to go…!

  8. ginacoetzer

    Yay. I have forced myself to wait for the official start ! Whoo hoo!

  9. Sonia F

    Very excited to do my 1st ever online sew along! I just started sewing last summer. I work better with deadlines!

  10. This sounds like so much fun! I have been out of ideas lately but I think this can inspire me. Can’t wait to see everyone’s completed projects.

  11. Pingback: Peppers please | mary emmens

  12. can I join now? I just today find this page and I like to sew with you 🙂

I truly appreciate your comments, thank you for taking the time to leave one! Lindsey

